travel

Hoi Ann, Vietnam

Hey all,

This romantic city is truly beautiful in both visual aesthetics and yummy food of all flavors. It’s a short drive south of Da Nang airport and it’s a quiet (minus the tourists) escape from the busy city of Da Nang. The narrow brick lined streets and influx of various Vietnamese, Chinese, French, and Japanese culture give Hoi Ann a feel unlike any other. I caught myself walking the Old Quarters for the sake of enjoying the city and listening, smelling, and seeing everything at my disposal. The smell of leather and fabrics from the tailor shops combined with the aroma of freshly baked bread and Vietnamese coffee offer onlookers a delectable city in taste, smell, and visual prowess.

I explored a minuscule part of Hoi Ann and that was fine with me. I visited the same coffee shop with my friends James and Moni. We relaxed on the balcony overlooking the street with our egg coffee, coconut coffee, and mango smoothies. One time we played Jenga to pass the time, which resulted in a 1.5 hour event. The relaxation effect from the city is almost euphoric.

One part of the city is quite spectacular compared to the rest. There are lanterns covering the streets and long wooden boats with lanterns floating down the river. Shops are distributing their French goods and Vietnamese cuisine. The warm lantern lit colors fill the streets. A Japanese  style bridge lights up the waterways. One night in particular, the power went off on one side of the street. The other side of the street illuminated the area. You couldn’t help but take a deep breath and just enjoyed the view. Hoi Ann gave me a home feeling- Similar to Portsmouth, NH for my New England friends.

This was a low key aspect of my Vietnam trip-partially due to the fact that it rained for three straight days. Aside from visiting the Marble Mountains- the group of us just primarily hung around. Therefore, I was convinced (it really took no convincing) by my friends to get something tailor made. By the end of the trip I left the shop with two bags of cloths. There are over a hundred Tailor shops of different kinds in Hoi Ann. You can get anything made. Merely just show a picture  and wham it’s done. The cheap price compared to other places around the world is due to the cheap cost of labor. The tailors size you, send basic measurements to a factory, and finally the half product shows up at their door. The tailors perform the specific tailoring at their shop. Be sure to do your research on high quality tailors. If it wasn’t for James and Moni, I would have most likely been bamboozled.


James, Moni, and I were able to enjoy a delicious five star meal at Ms.Vys. It was without a doubt one of the best meals I’ve eaten in S.E. Asia. The ambience accompanied by high quality service and delicious food made me happy to return to the same place two more times. Once again, thanks James and Moni for a fantastic recommendation.

The tailor, Mrs. Long, is a wonderful women who made sure everything fit perfectly. It took about four fittings until she felt it was suitable for me to claim my clothes. At one point she took James, Moni, and I out to a local place and paid for our meal. It was an incredibly sweet gesture and a smart business move on her hand. In addition, I was able to interact with her young son, Mue, who loves Spider-Man.

Hoi Ann should be on everyone’s bucket list. The city offers delicious food, cultural integrity, and a pleasant stop for anyone wanting a slower paced aspect of their trip. At this point of the trip I was happy to see less and experience a higher quality experience at the cities of my choice.

Andrew

Leave a comment